Skip to content

Chicken Enchiladas

January 4, 2011

My friend Lucinda brought us this casserole after the birth of one of our babies.  Years later it has become a family favorite.

Chicken Enchiladas

Serves: 10-12

Preparation Time: 20 mins.

Cooking Time: 40 mins.

Ingredients:

4-6 chicken breasts, cooked and shredded

2 green peppers, chopped

1 lg. onion, chopped

6 cloves garlic

2 T. chili powder

2 t. salt

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

2 cans cream of chicken soup

2 T. lemon juice

4-6 chicken breasts cooked and shreeded

12 7” tortillas

2 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease 9×13 dish.

In a wok or skillet, sauté chicken, green pepper, onion and garlic, chili, powder and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth.

Add soup and lemon juice; mix well.

In the 9×13 dish, layer tortillas, meat mixture, cheese, soup. Repeat 2 times. See diagram below.

Bake covered at 350 degrees for about 35 mins, bake uncovered for another 10 mins.

(top)

CHEESE

SOUP

CHEESE

MEAT

TORTILLAS

SOUP

CHEESE

MEAT

TORTILLAS

SOUP

CHEESE

MEAT

TORTILLAS

(bottom)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 6:05 pm

    I LOVE enchiladas and I’ve only made them once but reading this recipe is making me wanna try to make them again. Nice post.

    • January 5, 2011 7:47 am

      You must’ve caught my post just as I published! When I went back to double check it, I realized that I had left out one adjustment I made to the original recipe–I use only 8 oz. of cream cheese and not 16 oz. like my friend does. I made those changes and re-posted recipe. Let me know how the recipe works for you! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

